Review

Where I End by Michelle Dare

ABOUT THE BOOK:

34387939

Where I End by Michelle Dare

Copy provided via NetGalley

Genre: New Adult, Romance, Abuse

Rating: 4 stars

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Pub. Date: 9th June 2017

Buy it: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository


Where I End is a standalone new adult romance.

Eve
Pretentious. Arrogant. Condescending. Cruel.
All words I’d used to label him. Exactly what I’d always believed he was. All that changed one spring morning when I realized I didn’t know the man behind the facade at all.

Angry. Desperate. Broken. Mine.
All words I’d use to define him after I interfered. Once our eyes locked, I was all in. There was no turning back. He tried to push me away, but I refused to let him go. I was determined to save him. What I didn’t expect was that he would save me, too.

Cy
I was so close to ending my misery. Mere seconds away. Then she stumbled upon our argument, and I changed my plans. She wasn’t supposed to be there. She knew too much. Even with my entire world burning down around me, she wouldn’t walk away.

I’ve always been on my own. No one had ever fought for me before. Why should anyone start now? But she did, no matter how much I tried to stop her. I knew I was nothing, unworthy of her, but she was persistent. Once she got under my skin, I couldn’t let her go, because where I end, she begins.


MY REVIEW:

Book provided via NetGalley for honest review.

This book broke my heart. In a good way though. I’m really happy I got to read this story.

The issues of abuse, which are one of the main focus of the book, are not always easy to read but I think it’s important to acknowledge them because they can happen to whoever without it being necessarily obvious.

I would say the book wasn’t that long although the story had the time to develop.

I liked the characters’ strength: Eve is one of the most forgiving character I have ever found and I like how she tries to forgive Cy once she understands what is really going on. She is one of those rare people who stands by what she believes in and tries her best to be good.

It breaks my heart to see how a person can be that broken. Although the intensity of the issues in the book, they were approached in a way that wasn’t too heavy or with too much angst.

In the blurb we don’t really understand what the book is really about and, although we are given a hint, you are already in the story when you understand what is going on. I usually prefer when I know what I’m going to read but in this case I’m happy I didn’t otherwise I don’t know if I would have chosen to read the book. Not because it wasn’t good but because, although it wasn’t heavy to read, the subject can be hard.

I feel like this review is a bit all over the place but I liked this book, the style of the author was ok, not one of my favourite especially because some parts felt a bit “over the top” I would say but to be fair reading this book I concentrated more on the storyline rather than everything else.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Michelle Dare

Michelle Dare is a romance author. Her stories range from sweet to sinful and from new adult to fantasy. There aren’t enough hours in the day for her to write all of the story ideas in her head. When not writing or reading, she’s a wife and mom living in eastern Pennsylvania. One day she hopes to be writing from a beach where she will never have to see snow or be cold again.

Stay in contact with Michelle: Website | Twitter | Facebook
One thought on “Where I End by Michelle Dare

Leave a Reply

